棱镜逍遥游

2023 年 11 月 1 日至 12 月 20 日 |接待时间:2023 年 11 月 2 日下午 6-8 点

Agora Gallery 很高兴地宣布 棱镜逍遥游,通过三位当代画家 Ellen Globokar、Mark Schiff 和 Ai-Wen Wu Kratz 的镜头探索抽象。每个 artist 都通过个人感知的棱镜来过滤现实,无论是通过重新解释和解构他们的自然环境,还是作为智力或心理体验的表征。 

Globokar 的手工日本纸拼贴画令人沉思,让人们一睹自然世界的风采。它们由 artist 单独手工染色,恰当地再现了灯光的变化和色彩的细微差别,将我们带入宁静的海景、安静的秋日午后、河岸或花田。她的油画风景画证明了她的背景 万花筒 该系列以薰衣草、桃色、黄色和玫瑰等流行色调描绘了印象派场景,迸发出明亮的光芒,散发出平静的美感。 

马克·希夫's 百合 以受画家世界旅行启发的抽象风景为特色。每件作品都捕捉了希夫对所访问城市的独特情感印象,他将其转化为即兴的图案和色彩布置。希夫深受他对文化、音乐和瑜伽的兴趣影响,他受直觉引导的能力使他开启了他所说的“内在创造力的海洋”。正是从这个地方,他以大胆、深思熟虑的笔触进行绘画,创作出引人注目、充满活力的画作。

香港人吴艾文·克拉茨(Ai-Wen Wu Kratz)呈现了一系列植根于几何抽象的丙烯画。通过丰富多彩和复杂的安排,她构建了流畅的视觉叙事,涵盖了 artistic 表达的全部范围,从古典音乐(春季小酒馆)到芭蕾舞(为大地起舞),对自然(在等待时种花)和文学艺术(儿童文学礼赞)。她欣喜若狂,“来到我们这里,视觉 artist、舞者、诗人、作家、剧作家、音乐家和说书人。我们一起形成一个阴影,为您遮挡生活的炎热和疲倦。在这个庇护所里,我们将听到鸟儿快乐的交配声,分享新生的微风,沐浴在芬芳大地的温暖中。”

《棱镜逍遥游》将于2023年11月1日至12月20日展出。

安迪·沃霍尔
无限的思想
50" x 50" - 布面丙烯

Prismatic Getaway

November 1 - December 20, 2023 | Reception: November 2, 2023, 6-8 PM

Agora Gallery is pleased to announce Prismatic Getaway, an exploration of abstraction through the lens of three contemporary painters, Ellen Globokar, Mark Schiff, and Ai-Wen Wu Kratz. Each artist filters reality through the prism of their individual perceptions, whether by reinterpreting and deconstructing their natural surroundings or as representations of intellectual or psychological experiences. 

Globokar’s contemplative collages of handmade Japanese paper offer glimpses into the natural world. Hand-dyed individually by the artist, they aptly reproduce light plays and color nuances, transporting us to tranquil sea views, quiet autumnal afternoons, riverbanks, or flower fields. A testament to her background as an oil landscape painter, her Kaleidoscope series depicts impressionistic scenes in prevalent tones of lavender, peach, yellow, and rose that burst with luminosity and exude a calming beauty. 

Mark Schiff's Lilies feature abstract landscapes inspired by the painter’s world travels. Each piece captures Schiff’s unique emotional impression of a visited city, which he translates into ad-lib patterns and color arrangements. Heavily influenced by his interest in culture, music, and yoga, Schiff’s ability to be guided by intuition opens him to what he refers to as, “the ocean of creativity within.” It is from this place that he paints with bold, deliberate strokes creating eye-catching paintings that sizzle with energy.

Hong Kong native Ai-Wen Wu Kratz presents a series of acrylic paintings rooted in geometric abstraction. Through colorful and intricate arrangements, she builds fluid visual narratives that encompass the full spectrum of artistic expression, ranging from classical music (Spring Canzonetta) to ballet (Dance to the Earth), to nature (To Plant Flowers While Waiting), and the literary arts (In Praise of Children Literature). She exults, "Come to us, the visual artists, dancers, poets, writers, playwrights, musicians, and storytellers. Together, we'll form a shade to shelter you from the heat and weariness of life. Together, in this sanctuary, we shall hear the birds’ happy mating; share the breeze of renewal; and bathe in the warmth of the fragrant earth.”

Prismatic Getaway will be on exhibit November 1 - December 20, 2023.

Andy Warhol
The Infinity of Thoughts
50" x 50" - Acrylic on Canvas