凡妮莎·冈萨雷斯

重新发现和感官现实

2020 年 7 月 24 日 - 8 月 27 日

接待时间:2020年7月30日,下午6:00 - 晚上8:00

查询

作为墨西哥和美国的双重公民,艺术家 凡妮莎·冈萨雷斯 巧妙地驾驭跨境身份自豪感的叙述。冈萨雷斯虽然出生在美国,但在墨西哥长大。她在 17 岁时回到美国,当时正值政治和社会充满活力的移民环境。抵达后她不会说英语,在短短几年内,她在艺术、学术和专业上都取得了成功,现在她把田纳西州的孟菲斯称为家。

根据她的个人经历和目前的教学生涯,冈萨雷斯在墨西哥传统木刻和陶瓷的启发下探索了linocuts、数字艺术和丝网印刷中的文化、多样性、散居、失去、教育和自由的概念。鲜艳的色彩和黑白形象的图像展示了与她联系的人的美丽以及她所思考的具有挑战性的问题。 Gonzalez 经常在她的作品中使用旗帜和护照,她使用引人注目的服装编织了一条共同的线索,包括传统的墨西哥服装和现代男士西装。她象征性的视觉语言指向了对快乐与痛苦、自由与权威的明显感知,给人留下了持久的印象。

凡妮莎·冈萨雷斯

重新发现和感官现实

2020 年 7 月 24 日 - 8 月 27 日

接待时间:2020年7月30日,下午6:00 - 晚上8:00

米莫雷纳
米莫雷纳

50" × 37"

丹扎塔帕蒂亚 #2
丹扎塔帕蒂亚 #2

15" × 11"

Danza Tapatia #3
Danza Tapatia #3

15" × 11"

卡特里娜
卡特里娜

35" x 24"

查询

作为墨西哥和美国的双重公民,艺术家 凡妮莎·冈萨雷斯 巧妙地驾驭跨境身份自豪感的叙述。冈萨雷斯虽然出生在美国,但在墨西哥长大。她在 17 岁时回到美国,当时正值政治和社会充满活力的移民环境。抵达后她不会说英语,在短短几年内,她在艺术、学术和专业上都取得了成功,现在她把田纳西州的孟菲斯称为家。

根据她的个人经历和目前的教学生涯,冈萨雷斯在墨西哥传统木刻和陶瓷的启发下探索了linocuts、数字艺术和丝网印刷中的文化、多样性、散居、失去、教育和自由的概念。鲜艳的色彩和黑白形象的图像展示了与她联系的人的美丽以及她所思考的具有挑战性的问题。 Gonzalez 经常在她的作品中使用旗帜和护照,她使用引人注目的服装编织了一条共同的线索,包括传统的墨西哥服装和现代男士西装。她象征性的视觉语言指向了对快乐与痛苦、自由与权威的明显感知,给人留下了持久的印象。

米莫雷纳
米莫雷纳
丹扎塔帕蒂亚 #2
丹扎塔帕蒂亚 #2
Danza Tapatia #3
Danza Tapatia #3
卡特里娜
卡特里娜
查询

无限的思想
50" x 50" - 布面丙烯
加入我们的邮件列表

Vanessa Gonzalez

Rediscovery & Sensorial Reality

July 24 - August 27, 2020

Inquire

As a dual citizen of Mexico and the United States, artist Vanessa Gonzalez skillfully navigates a narrative of pride in identity across borders. Although born in America, Gonzalez was raised in Mexico. She returned to the States at age 17 at the height of a politically and socially charged immigration environment. A non-English speaker upon arrival, in just a few short years she has succeeded artistically, academically, and professionally, now calling Memphis, Tennessee home.

Informed by her personal experiences and current teaching career, Gonzalez explores concepts of culture, diversity, diaspora, loss, education, and freedom in linocuts, digital art, and silkscreen inspired by traditional Mexican woodcuts and ceramics. Vibrant colors and black and white figurative imagery illustrate the beauty of the people with whom she connects and the challenging issues with which she contemplates. Often using flags and passports in her work, Gonzalez weaves a common thread utilizing striking clothing including traditional Mexican garb and contemporary men’s suits. Her symbolic visual language points to palpable perceptions of pleasure versus pain, and liberty versus authority, leaving a lasting impression.

Featured Artworks
Mi Morena
Mi Morena
Danza Tapatia #2
Danza Tapatia #2
Danza Tapatia #3
Danza Tapatia #3
Catrina
Catrina

Vanessa Gonzalez

Rediscovery & Sensorial Reality

July 24 - August 27, 2020

Mi Morena
Mi Morena

WOODCUT
37" x 50"

Inquire

As a dual citizen of Mexico and the United States, artist Vanessa Gonzalez skillfully navigates a narrative of pride in identity across borders. Although born in America, Gonzalez was raised in Mexico. She returned to the States at age 17 at the height of a politically and socially charged immigration environment. A non-English speaker upon arrival, in just a few short years she has succeeded artistically, academically, and professionally, now calling Memphis, Tennessee home.

Informed by her personal experiences and current teaching career, Gonzalez explores concepts of culture, diversity, diaspora, loss, education, and freedom in linocuts, digital art, and silkscreen inspired by traditional Mexican woodcuts and ceramics. Vibrant colors and black and white figurative imagery illustrate the beauty of the people with whom she connects and the challenging issues with which she contemplates. Often using flags and passports in her work, Gonzalez weaves a common thread utilizing striking clothing including traditional Mexican garb and contemporary men’s suits. Her symbolic visual language points to palpable perceptions of pleasure versus pain, and liberty versus authority, leaving a lasting impression.

Mi Morena
Mi Morena
Danza Tapatia #2
Danza Tapatia #2
Danza Tapatia #3
Danza Tapatia #3
Catrina
Catrina
Danza Tapatia #1
Danza Tapatia #1
Inquire

The Infinity of Thoughts
50" x 50" - Acrylic on Canvas
JOIN OUR LIST

Sign up for news and events emails