فانيسا جونزاليس

إعادة الاكتشاف والواقع الحسي

24 يوليو - 27 أغسطس 2020

الاستقبال: 30 يوليو 2020 ، 6:00 مساءً - 8:00 مساءً

استعلام

كمواطن مزدوج من المكسيك والولايات المتحدة ، فنان فانيسا جونزاليس يتنقل بمهارة في سرد الاعتزاز بالهوية عبر الحدود. على الرغم من ولادته في أمريكا ، نشأ غونزاليس في المكسيك. عادت إلى الولايات المتحدة في سن 17 في ذروة بيئة هجرة مشحونة سياسياً واجتماعياً. كانت متحدثة بغير اللغة الإنجليزية عند وصولها ، في غضون بضع سنوات قصيرة فقط ، نجحت فنياً وأكاديمياً ومهنياً ، وتدعو الآن ممفيس بولاية تينيسي إلى موطنها.

مستوحاة من تجاربها الشخصية ومسيرتها التدريسية الحالية ، تستكشف غونزاليس مفاهيم الثقافة والتنوع والشتات والخسارة والتعليم والحرية في الخطوط الفنية والفن الرقمي والشاشة الحريرية المستوحاة من النقوش الخشبية المكسيكية التقليدية والسيراميك. توضح الألوان النابضة بالحياة والصور التصويرية بالأبيض والأسود جمال الأشخاص الذين تتواصل معهم والقضايا الصعبة التي تفكر بها. غالبًا ما تستخدم الأعلام وجوازات السفر في عملها ، تحيك غونزاليس خيطًا مشتركًا مستخدمة ملابس ملفتة للنظر بما في ذلك الملابس المكسيكية التقليدية وبدلات الرجال المعاصرة. تشير لغتها المرئية الرمزية إلى تصورات ملموسة عن المتعة مقابل الألم ، والحرية مقابل السلطة ، مما يترك انطباعًا دائمًا.

فانيسا جونزاليس

إعادة الاكتشاف والواقع الحسي

24 يوليو - 27 أغسطس 2020

الاستقبال: 30 يوليو 2020 ، 6:00 مساءً - 8:00 مساءً

مي مورينا
مي مورينا

50 × 37 بوصة

دانزا تاباتيا #2
دانزا تاباتيا #2

15 × 11 بوصة

دانزا تاباتيا #3
دانزا تاباتيا #3

15 × 11 بوصة

كاترينا
كاترينا

35 × 24 بوصة

استعلام

كمواطن مزدوج من المكسيك والولايات المتحدة ، فنان فانيسا جونزاليس يتنقل بمهارة في سرد الاعتزاز بالهوية عبر الحدود. على الرغم من ولادته في أمريكا ، نشأ غونزاليس في المكسيك. عادت إلى الولايات المتحدة في سن 17 في ذروة بيئة هجرة مشحونة سياسياً واجتماعياً. كانت متحدثة بغير اللغة الإنجليزية عند وصولها ، في غضون بضع سنوات قصيرة فقط ، نجحت فنياً وأكاديمياً ومهنياً ، وتدعو الآن ممفيس بولاية تينيسي إلى موطنها.

مستوحاة من تجاربها الشخصية ومسيرتها التدريسية الحالية ، تستكشف غونزاليس مفاهيم الثقافة والتنوع والشتات والخسارة والتعليم والحرية في الخطوط الفنية والفن الرقمي والشاشة الحريرية المستوحاة من النقوش الخشبية المكسيكية التقليدية والسيراميك. توضح الألوان النابضة بالحياة والصور التصويرية بالأبيض والأسود جمال الأشخاص الذين تتواصل معهم والقضايا الصعبة التي تفكر بها. غالبًا ما تستخدم الأعلام وجوازات السفر في عملها ، تحيك غونزاليس خيطًا مشتركًا مستخدمة ملابس ملفتة للنظر بما في ذلك الملابس المكسيكية التقليدية وبدلات الرجال المعاصرة. تشير لغتها المرئية الرمزية إلى تصورات ملموسة عن المتعة مقابل الألم ، والحرية مقابل السلطة ، مما يترك انطباعًا دائمًا.

مي مورينا
مي مورينا
دانزا تاباتيا #2
دانزا تاباتيا #2
دانزا تاباتيا #3
دانزا تاباتيا #3
كاترينا
كاترينا
استعلام

إنفينيتي من الأفكار
50 × 50 "- أكريليك على قماش
انضم لقائمتنا البريدية

Vanessa Gonzalez

Rediscovery & Sensorial Reality

July 24 - August 27, 2020

Inquire

As a dual citizen of Mexico and the United States, artist Vanessa Gonzalez skillfully navigates a narrative of pride in identity across borders. Although born in America, Gonzalez was raised in Mexico. She returned to the States at age 17 at the height of a politically and socially charged immigration environment. A non-English speaker upon arrival, in just a few short years she has succeeded artistically, academically, and professionally, now calling Memphis, Tennessee home.

Informed by her personal experiences and current teaching career, Gonzalez explores concepts of culture, diversity, diaspora, loss, education, and freedom in linocuts, digital art, and silkscreen inspired by traditional Mexican woodcuts and ceramics. Vibrant colors and black and white figurative imagery illustrate the beauty of the people with whom she connects and the challenging issues with which she contemplates. Often using flags and passports in her work, Gonzalez weaves a common thread utilizing striking clothing including traditional Mexican garb and contemporary men’s suits. Her symbolic visual language points to palpable perceptions of pleasure versus pain, and liberty versus authority, leaving a lasting impression.

Featured Artworks
Mi Morena
Mi Morena
Danza Tapatia #2
Danza Tapatia #2
Danza Tapatia #3
Danza Tapatia #3
Catrina
Catrina

Vanessa Gonzalez

Rediscovery & Sensorial Reality

July 24 - August 27, 2020

Mi Morena
Mi Morena

WOODCUT
37" x 50"

Inquire

As a dual citizen of Mexico and the United States, artist Vanessa Gonzalez skillfully navigates a narrative of pride in identity across borders. Although born in America, Gonzalez was raised in Mexico. She returned to the States at age 17 at the height of a politically and socially charged immigration environment. A non-English speaker upon arrival, in just a few short years she has succeeded artistically, academically, and professionally, now calling Memphis, Tennessee home.

Informed by her personal experiences and current teaching career, Gonzalez explores concepts of culture, diversity, diaspora, loss, education, and freedom in linocuts, digital art, and silkscreen inspired by traditional Mexican woodcuts and ceramics. Vibrant colors and black and white figurative imagery illustrate the beauty of the people with whom she connects and the challenging issues with which she contemplates. Often using flags and passports in her work, Gonzalez weaves a common thread utilizing striking clothing including traditional Mexican garb and contemporary men’s suits. Her symbolic visual language points to palpable perceptions of pleasure versus pain, and liberty versus authority, leaving a lasting impression.

Mi Morena
Mi Morena
Danza Tapatia #2
Danza Tapatia #2
Danza Tapatia #3
Danza Tapatia #3
Catrina
Catrina
Danza Tapatia #1
Danza Tapatia #1
Inquire

The Infinity of Thoughts
50" x 50" - Acrylic on Canvas
JOIN OUR LIST

Sign up for news and events emails