戈登马斯曼

戈登马斯曼 描绘了本能的膨胀抽象,随着原始而跳动。他既是诗人又是 artist,受到抽象表现主义、忏悔诗和垮掉一代文学的启发;所有的动作都植根于现实生活中的经历,并以自发的表达、坦率和即时为特征。经过多年的弗洛伊德精神分析,马斯曼非常习惯于将禁忌带入世界。他不朽的画布是无拘无束的领土,是测试人类思想和手能走多远的极端实验场,不受社会道德的约束。每一个行为——无论多么暴力、异常、卑鄙、无耻、旺盛、快乐、狂喜、任意——都被赦免了它的罪恶,在画笔的净化实施中找到了一个合法的工具。

Massman 的过程完全由本能引导。这是一种完全由自由联想手势、旋转、抓挠、手臂旋转、反流和流汗组成的情感和身体上的尝试。 “我画得像一只科迪亚克熊攻击新鲜的腐肉,”他说。 “我对着这幅画大喊大叫。我经常和它说话,用一种下流而响亮的方式。我诅咒它。偶尔,我会用刷子刷它。”这幅画是一个活生生的有机体,它带有 artist 的记忆、对话、悲剧、平凡活动和梦想的印记。 “艺术的最后边界是 artist 的心灵,以及他或她旅行和理解的深度和残酷的诚实,”他解释道。 “没有这些知识,当今世界的任何艺术都无法成功。它只是漂亮的颜色,没有任何意义。”

马斯曼在德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校和阿拉斯加费尔班克斯大学学习文学和创意写作。他在马萨诸塞州北亚当斯的马萨诸塞文理学院教授写作和文学,出版了五本诗集,在四十五年的时间里创作了数千首诗歌。 2013年,他的诗集, 0.174:完整的数字循环, 被提名普利策诗歌奖。位于马萨诸塞州林肯市的德科尔多瓦博物馆收藏了他的八幅画作,作为其企业借阅计划的一部分。他来自得克萨斯州的科珀斯克里斯蒂,现居住在马萨诸塞州的罗克波特,在那里他全身心投入绘画。

查询 查看目录

戈登马斯曼

戈登马斯曼 描绘了本能的膨胀抽象,随着原始而跳动。他既是诗人又是 artist,受到抽象表现主义、忏悔诗和垮掉一代文学的启发;所有的动作都植根于现实生活中的经历,并以自发的表达、坦率和即时为特征。经过多年的弗洛伊德精神分析,马斯曼非常习惯于将禁忌带入世界。他不朽的画布是无拘无束的领土,是测试人类思想和手能走多远的极端实验场,不受社会道德的约束。每一个行为——无论多么暴力、异常、卑鄙、无耻、旺盛、快乐、狂喜、任意——都被赦免了它的罪恶,在画笔的净化实施中找到了一个合法的工具。

Massman 的过程完全由本能引导。这是一种完全由自由联想手势、旋转、抓挠、手臂旋转、反流和流汗组成的情感和身体上的尝试。 “我画得像一只科迪亚克熊攻击新鲜的腐肉,”他说。 “我对着这幅画大喊大叫。我经常和它说话,用一种下流而响亮的方式。我诅咒它。偶尔,我会用刷子刷它。”这幅画是一个活生生的有机体,它带有 artist 的记忆、对话、悲剧、平凡活动和梦想的印记。 “艺术的最后边界是 artist 的心灵,以及他或她旅行和理解的深度和残酷的诚实,”他解释道。 “没有这些知识,当今世界的任何艺术都无法成功。它只是漂亮的颜色,没有任何意义。”

马斯曼在德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校和阿拉斯加费尔班克斯大学学习文学和创意写作。他在马萨诸塞州北亚当斯的马萨诸塞文理学院教授写作和文学,出版了五本诗集,在四十五年的时间里创作了数千首诗歌。 2013年,他的诗集, 0.174:完整的数字循环, 被提名普利策诗歌奖。位于马萨诸塞州林肯市的德科尔多瓦博物馆收藏了他的八幅画作,作为其企业借阅计划的一部分。他来自得克萨斯州的科珀斯克里斯蒂,现居住在马萨诸塞州的罗克波特,在那里他全身心投入绘画。

查询 查看目录
作品名称
布面丙烯
50" x 50"

戈登马斯曼

加入我们的邮件列表

Gordon Massman

Gordon Massman paints visceral expansive abstractions that pulsate with rawness. A poet as well as an artist, he was inspired by Abstract Expressionism, confessional poetry, and Beat Generation literature; all movements rooted in real-life experiences and characterized by spontaneous expression, candor, and immediacy. Having undergone years of Freudian psychoanalysis, Massman is well-accustomed to bringing the forbidden out in the world. His monumental canvases are no-holds-barred territories, extreme experimental grounds testing how far the human mind and hand can go, without the constraints of social morality. Every action–no matter how violent, aberrant, despicable, shameless, exuberant, joyful, rapturous, arbitrary–is absolved of its iniquity, finding a legitimate instrument in the purifying implementation of the brush.

Massman’s process is solely guided by instinct. It is a wholly emotional and physical endeavor of free-associative gestures, twirls, scratches, arm rotations, regurgitations, and sweat. “I paint like a Kodiak bear attacking fresh carrion,” he says. “I yell at the painting. I often talk to it, in a lewd and loud fashion. I curse at it. Occasionally, I throw a brush at it.” The painting is a living organism, one which holds the imprints of the artist’s memories, conversations, tragedies, mundane activities, and dreams. “The last frontier in art is the artist's psyche and how deeply and brutally honest he or she has traveled and understood,” he explains. “Without such knowledge no art in today's world can succeed. It's just pretty colors signifying nothing.”

Massman studied literature and creative writing at the University of Texas-Austin and the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He taught writing and literature at The Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts in North Adams, Massachusetts, and is the published author of five poetry volumes, having composed thousands of poems in a span of forty-five years. In 2013, his collected Poems, 0.174: The Complete Numbers Cycle, was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. The deCordova Museum in Lincoln, MA, represents eight of his paintings as part of its Corporate Lending Program. Originally from Corpus Christi, Texas, he now lives in Rockport, Massachusetts, where he devotes himself entirely to painting.

Inquire View Catalog

Gordon Massman

Gordon Massman paints visceral expansive abstractions that pulsate with rawness. A poet as well as an artist, he was inspired by Abstract Expressionism, confessional poetry, and Beat Generation literature; all movements rooted in real-life experiences and characterized by spontaneous expression, candor, and immediacy. Having undergone years of Freudian psychoanalysis, Massman is well-accustomed to bringing the forbidden out in the world. His monumental canvases are no-holds-barred territories, extreme experimental grounds testing how far the human mind and hand can go, without the constraints of social morality. Every action–no matter how violent, aberrant, despicable, shameless, exuberant, joyful, rapturous, arbitrary–is absolved of its iniquity, finding a legitimate instrument in the purifying implementation of the brush.

Massman’s process is solely guided by instinct. It is a wholly emotional and physical endeavor of free-associative gestures, twirls, scratches, arm rotations, regurgitations, and sweat. “I paint like a Kodiak bear attacking fresh carrion,” he says. “I yell at the painting. I often talk to it, in a lewd and loud fashion. I curse at it. Occasionally, I throw a brush at it.” The painting is a living organism, one which holds the imprints of the artist’s memories, conversations, tragedies, mundane activities, and dreams. “The last frontier in art is the artist's psyche and how deeply and brutally honest he or she has traveled and understood,” he explains. “Without such knowledge no art in today's world can succeed. It's just pretty colors signifying nothing.”

Massman studied literature and creative writing at the University of Texas-Austin and the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He taught writing and literature at The Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts in North Adams, Massachusetts, and is the published author of five poetry volumes, having composed thousands of poems in a span of forty-five years. In 2013, his collected Poems, 0.174: The Complete Numbers Cycle, was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. The deCordova Museum in Lincoln, MA, represents eight of his paintings as part of its Corporate Lending Program. Originally from Corpus Christi, Texas, he now lives in Rockport, Massachusetts, where he devotes himself entirely to painting.

Inquire View Catalog
featured-artist

The New Mt. Sinai Tablets,

Oil on Canvas

168" x 108"

featured-artist

Ladies Slippers,

Ink on Canvas

168" x 120"

featured-artist

The Crucifixion Of Superman,

Oil on Canvas

156" x 96"

featured-artist

That Fleeting Perfect Moment,

Oil on Canvas

144" x 96"

featured-artist

Velocity,

Oil on Canvas

156" x 108"

Artwork Title
Acrylic on Canvas
50" x 50"

Gordon Massman

JOIN OUR LIST

Sign up for news and events emails