جوردون ماسمان

جوردون ماسمان يرسم التجريدات الحشوية الواسعة التي تنبض بالخامة. شاعر بالإضافة إلى artist ، كان مستوحى من التعبيرية التجريدية ، والشعر الطائفي ، وأدب Beat Generation. جميع الحركات متجذرة في تجارب الحياة الواقعية وتتميز بالتعبير العفوي والصراحة والفورية. بعد أن خضع لسنوات من التحليل النفسي الفرويدي ، اعتاد ماسمان جيدًا إخراج الممنوع في العالم. لوحاته الضخمة هي مناطق غير محظورة ، وأسس تجريبية متطرفة تختبر إلى أي مدى يمكن للعقل البشري واليد أن يذهب ، دون قيود الأخلاق الاجتماعية. كل فعل - مهما كان عنيفًا ، شاذًا ، حقيرًا ، وقحًا ، مفعمًا بالبهجة ، بهيج ، تعسفيًا - يُبرأ من إثمه ، ويجد أداة شرعية في تنفيذ الفرشاة المطهرة.

تسترشد عملية ماسمان بالغريزة فقط. إنه مسعى عاطفي وجسدي بالكامل للإيماءات النقابية الحرة ، والدوامات ، والخدوش ، ودوران الذراع ، والقلس ، والعرق. يقول: "أرسم مثل دب كودياك يهاجم الجيف الطازج". "أنا أصرخ على اللوحة. غالبًا ما أتحدث إليه بطريقة بذيئة وبصوت عالٍ. ألعن في ذلك. من حين لآخر ، أرمي الفرشاة عليها ". اللوحة عبارة عن كائن حي ، يحمل بصمات ذكريات artist ، والمحادثات ، والمآسي ، والأنشطة الدنيوية ، والأحلام. يشرح قائلاً: "آخر حدود الفن هي نفسية artist ومدى صدقه العميق والوحشي الذي سافر إليه وفهمه". "بدون هذه المعرفة لا يمكن للفن في عالم اليوم أن ينجح. إنها مجرد ألوان جميلة لا تدل على شيء ".

درس ماسمان الأدب والكتابة الإبداعية في جامعة تكساس-أوستن وجامعة ألاسكا فيربانكس. قام بتدريس الكتابة والأدب في كلية ماساتشوستس للفنون الليبرالية في شمال آدامز ، ماساتشوستس ، وهو مؤلف منشور لخمسة مجلدات شعرية ، وقد ألف آلاف القصائد في فترة خمسة وأربعين عامًا. في عام 2013 ، جمع قصائده ، 0.174: دورة الأرقام الكاملة، رُشح لجائزة بوليتسر في الشعر. يمثل متحف deCordova في لينكولن ، ماساتشوستس ثمانية من لوحاته كجزء من برنامج إقراض الشركات. أصله من كوربوس كريستي ، تكساس ، يعيش الآن في روكبورت ، ماساتشوستس ، حيث يكرس نفسه بالكامل للرسم.

استعلام مشاهدة الكتالوج

جوردون ماسمان

جوردون ماسمان يرسم التجريدات الحشوية الواسعة التي تنبض بالخامة. شاعر بالإضافة إلى artist ، كان مستوحى من التعبيرية التجريدية ، والشعر الطائفي ، وأدب Beat Generation. جميع الحركات متجذرة في تجارب الحياة الواقعية وتتميز بالتعبير العفوي والصراحة والفورية. بعد أن خضع لسنوات من التحليل النفسي الفرويدي ، اعتاد ماسمان جيدًا إخراج الممنوع في العالم. لوحاته الضخمة هي مناطق غير محظورة ، وأسس تجريبية متطرفة تختبر إلى أي مدى يمكن للعقل البشري واليد أن يذهب ، دون قيود الأخلاق الاجتماعية. كل فعل - مهما كان عنيفًا ، شاذًا ، حقيرًا ، وقحًا ، مفعمًا بالبهجة ، بهيج ، تعسفيًا - يُبرأ من إثمه ، ويجد أداة شرعية في تنفيذ الفرشاة المطهرة.

تسترشد عملية ماسمان بالغريزة فقط. إنه مسعى عاطفي وجسدي بالكامل للإيماءات النقابية الحرة ، والدوامات ، والخدوش ، ودوران الذراع ، والقلس ، والعرق. يقول: "أرسم مثل دب كودياك يهاجم الجيف الطازج". "أنا أصرخ على اللوحة. غالبًا ما أتحدث إليه بطريقة بذيئة وبصوت عالٍ. ألعن في ذلك. من حين لآخر ، أرمي الفرشاة عليها ". اللوحة عبارة عن كائن حي ، يحمل بصمات ذكريات artist ، والمحادثات ، والمآسي ، والأنشطة الدنيوية ، والأحلام. يشرح قائلاً: "آخر حدود الفن هي نفسية artist ومدى صدقه العميق والوحشي الذي سافر إليه وفهمه". "بدون هذه المعرفة لا يمكن للفن في عالم اليوم أن ينجح. إنها مجرد ألوان جميلة لا تدل على شيء ".

درس ماسمان الأدب والكتابة الإبداعية في جامعة تكساس-أوستن وجامعة ألاسكا فيربانكس. قام بتدريس الكتابة والأدب في كلية ماساتشوستس للفنون الليبرالية في شمال آدامز ، ماساتشوستس ، وهو مؤلف منشور لخمسة مجلدات شعرية ، وقد ألف آلاف القصائد في فترة خمسة وأربعين عامًا. في عام 2013 ، جمع قصائده ، 0.174: دورة الأرقام الكاملة، رُشح لجائزة بوليتسر في الشعر. يمثل متحف deCordova في لينكولن ، ماساتشوستس ثمانية من لوحاته كجزء من برنامج إقراض الشركات. أصله من كوربوس كريستي ، تكساس ، يعيش الآن في روكبورت ، ماساتشوستس ، حيث يكرس نفسه بالكامل للرسم.

استعلام مشاهدة الكتالوج
عنوان العمل الفني
الاكريليك على قماش
50 × 50 بوصة

جوردون ماسمان

Gordon Massman

Gordon Massman paints visceral expansive abstractions that pulsate with rawness. A poet as well as an artist, he was inspired by Abstract Expressionism, confessional poetry, and Beat Generation literature; all movements rooted in real-life experiences and characterized by spontaneous expression, candor, and immediacy. Having undergone years of Freudian psychoanalysis, Massman is well-accustomed to bringing the forbidden out in the world. His monumental canvases are no-holds-barred territories, extreme experimental grounds testing how far the human mind and hand can go, without the constraints of social morality. Every action–no matter how violent, aberrant, despicable, shameless, exuberant, joyful, rapturous, arbitrary–is absolved of its iniquity, finding a legitimate instrument in the purifying implementation of the brush.

Massman’s process is solely guided by instinct. It is a wholly emotional and physical endeavor of free-associative gestures, twirls, scratches, arm rotations, regurgitations, and sweat. “I paint like a Kodiak bear attacking fresh carrion,” he says. “I yell at the painting. I often talk to it, in a lewd and loud fashion. I curse at it. Occasionally, I throw a brush at it.” The painting is a living organism, one which holds the imprints of the artist’s memories, conversations, tragedies, mundane activities, and dreams. “The last frontier in art is the artist's psyche and how deeply and brutally honest he or she has traveled and understood,” he explains. “Without such knowledge no art in today's world can succeed. It's just pretty colors signifying nothing.”

Massman studied literature and creative writing at the University of Texas-Austin and the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He taught writing and literature at The Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts in North Adams, Massachusetts, and is the published author of five poetry volumes, having composed thousands of poems in a span of forty-five years. In 2013, his collected Poems, 0.174: The Complete Numbers Cycle, was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. The deCordova Museum in Lincoln, MA, represents eight of his paintings as part of its Corporate Lending Program. Originally from Corpus Christi, Texas, he now lives in Rockport, Massachusetts, where he devotes himself entirely to painting.

Inquire View Catalog

Gordon Massman

Gordon Massman paints visceral expansive abstractions that pulsate with rawness. A poet as well as an artist, he was inspired by Abstract Expressionism, confessional poetry, and Beat Generation literature; all movements rooted in real-life experiences and characterized by spontaneous expression, candor, and immediacy. Having undergone years of Freudian psychoanalysis, Massman is well-accustomed to bringing the forbidden out in the world. His monumental canvases are no-holds-barred territories, extreme experimental grounds testing how far the human mind and hand can go, without the constraints of social morality. Every action–no matter how violent, aberrant, despicable, shameless, exuberant, joyful, rapturous, arbitrary–is absolved of its iniquity, finding a legitimate instrument in the purifying implementation of the brush.

Massman’s process is solely guided by instinct. It is a wholly emotional and physical endeavor of free-associative gestures, twirls, scratches, arm rotations, regurgitations, and sweat. “I paint like a Kodiak bear attacking fresh carrion,” he says. “I yell at the painting. I often talk to it, in a lewd and loud fashion. I curse at it. Occasionally, I throw a brush at it.” The painting is a living organism, one which holds the imprints of the artist’s memories, conversations, tragedies, mundane activities, and dreams. “The last frontier in art is the artist's psyche and how deeply and brutally honest he or she has traveled and understood,” he explains. “Without such knowledge no art in today's world can succeed. It's just pretty colors signifying nothing.”

Massman studied literature and creative writing at the University of Texas-Austin and the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He taught writing and literature at The Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts in North Adams, Massachusetts, and is the published author of five poetry volumes, having composed thousands of poems in a span of forty-five years. In 2013, his collected Poems, 0.174: The Complete Numbers Cycle, was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. The deCordova Museum in Lincoln, MA, represents eight of his paintings as part of its Corporate Lending Program. Originally from Corpus Christi, Texas, he now lives in Rockport, Massachusetts, where he devotes himself entirely to painting.

Inquire View Catalog
featured-artist

The New Mt. Sinai Tablets,

Oil on Canvas

168" x 108"

featured-artist

Ladies Slippers,

Ink on Canvas

168" x 120"

featured-artist

The Crucifixion Of Superman,

Oil on Canvas

156" x 96"

featured-artist

That Fleeting Perfect Moment,

Oil on Canvas

144" x 96"

featured-artist

Velocity,

Oil on Canvas

156" x 108"

Artwork Title
Acrylic on Canvas
50" x 50"

Gordon Massman

JOIN OUR LIST

Sign up for news and events emails