Ай Вэйвэй

Ай Вэйвэй

Ай Вэйвэй (1957 г.р.) - самый известный современный artist в Китае. Его работы предлагают острую критику правительственных злоупотреблений и авторитарных практик посредством инсталляций, скульптур, видео и фарфора. После политического изгнания отца Вэйвэй уехал из родного Пекина в отдаленный регион Синьцзян, где жил в суровых условиях до 1976 года. В 1978 году он поступил в Пекинскую киноакадемию и переехал в США, где учился в Школе дизайна Парсонса в Нью-Йорк.

Как artist, Вэйвэй открыто критиковал социально-политическую систему Китая, в частности позицию правительства в отношении демократии и прав человека. Он расследовал коррупцию в правительстве и сокрытие информации, например, скандал, связанный с землетрясением в провинции Сычуань. Его инсталляции Проект названий землетрясений в Сычуани (2009) и Вспоминая (2009) почтили память тысяч жертв, погибших во время катаклизма, осудив при этом неадекватную реакцию властей и безответственную практику строительства. В результате artist подверглась цензуре со стороны правительства, кульминацией которой стал арест Вэйвэя за «экономические преступления» — обвинение, которое многие считают политически мотивированным. Он задокументировал свой 81 день заключения в СВЯЩЕННЫЙ (2013), серия диорам, представленных на Венецианской биеннале. Вэйвэй также исследует связь между имперскими традициями своей страны и недавней фазой модернизации посредством манипулирования китайскими культурными артефактами.

Вэйвэй получил множество наград и похвал, в том числе Премию китайского современного искусства, медаль Скоухегана и премию Вацлава Гавела за творческое несогласие от Фонда прав человека. Его работы выставлялись в Художественном музее Мори в Токио; Тейт Модерн в Лондоне, Тайбэйский музей изящных искусств в Тайбэе; Азиатское общество в Нью-Йорке; Музей Хиршхорна и Сад скульптур в Вашингтоне, округ Колумбия; и Художественный музей Индианаполиса. Получив разрешение покинуть Китай в 2015 году, Вэйвэй вместе с семьей переехал в Европу, где и проживает в настоящее время.

Ai Weiwei

Ai Weiwei

Ai Weiwei (b. 1957) is China’s most well-known contemporary artist. His work offers poignant criticism of government abuse and authoritarian practices through installation, sculpture, video, and porcelain. Following his father’s political exile, Weiwei left his native Beijing for the remote Xinjiang region, where he lived under harsh conditions until 1976. In 1978 he attended the Beijing Film Academy and relocated to the United States, where he studied at Parsons School of Design in New York.

As an artist, Weiwei has been a vocal critic of the sociopolitical system in China, in particular the government’s stance on democracy and human rights. He has investigated government corruption and cover-ups, such as the scandal connected to the Sichuan Earthquake. His installations Sichuan Earthquake Names Project (2009) and Remembering (2009) commemorated the thousands of victims killed during the cataclysm, while denouncing the authorities’ inadequate response and irresponsible building practices. As a result, the artist experienced censorship from the government, which culminated in Weiwei being arrested for “economic crimes,” a charge widely thought to be politically motivated. He documented his 81 days of incarceration in S.A.C.R.E.D (2013), a series of dioramas presented at the Venice Biennale. Weiwei also explores the relationship between his country’s imperial tradition and the recent phase of modernization through the manipulation of Chinese cultural artifacts.

Weiwei received numerous awards and accolades, including the Chinese Contemporary Art Award, the Skowhegan Medal, and the Václav Havel Prize for Creative Dissent from the Human Rights Foundation. His work was exhibited at the Mori Art Museum in Tokyo; Tate Modern in London, the Taipei Fine Art Museum in Taipei; the Asia Society in New York; the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington D.C.; and the Indianapolis Museum of Art. After receiving permission to leave China in 2015, Weiwei moved with his family to Europe, where he currently resides.