عاي ويوي

عاي ويوي

عاي ويوي (ب. 1957) هو artist المعاصر الأكثر شهرة في الصين. تعرض أعماله انتقادات لاذعة لانتهاكات الحكومة والممارسات الاستبدادية من خلال التركيبات والنحت والفيديو والخزف. بعد النفي السياسي لوالده ، غادر ويوي مسقط رأسه في بكين متوجهاً إلى منطقة شينجيانغ النائية ، حيث عاش في ظل ظروف قاسية حتى عام 1976. وفي عام 1978 التحق بأكاديمية بكين للأفلام وانتقل إلى الولايات المتحدة ، حيث درس في مدرسة بارسونز للتصميم في. نيويورك.

بصفته artist ، كان Weiwei منتقدًا صريحًا للنظام الاجتماعي السياسي في الصين ، ولا سيما موقف الحكومة من الديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان. لقد حقق في الفساد الحكومي وعمليات التستر ، مثل الفضيحة المرتبطة بزلزال سيتشوان. منشآته مشروع أسماء زلزال سيتشوان (2009) و تذكر (2009) أحيى ذكرى آلاف الضحايا الذين قتلوا خلال الكارثة ، بينما ندد باستجابة السلطات غير الكافية وممارسات البناء غير المسؤولة. ونتيجة لذلك ، تعرضت "artist" للرقابة من قبل الحكومة ، والتي بلغت ذروتها باعتقال ويوي بسبب "جرائم اقتصادية" ، وهي تهمة يُعتقد على نطاق واسع أنها ذات دوافع سياسية. وثق 81 يومًا من الحبس في مقدس (2013) ، سلسلة من الديوراما المقدمة في بينالي البندقية. يستكشف ويوي أيضًا العلاقة بين التقاليد الإمبراطورية لبلاده والمرحلة الأخيرة من التحديث من خلال التلاعب بالقطع الأثرية الثقافية الصينية.

حصل Weiwei على العديد من الجوائز والأوسمة ، بما في ذلك جائزة الفن الصيني المعاصر ، وميدالية Skowhegan ، وجائزة Václav Havel للمعارضة الإبداعية من مؤسسة حقوق الإنسان. عُرضت أعماله في متحف موري للفنون في طوكيو ؛ تيت مودرن في لندن ، ومتحف تايبيه للفنون الجميلة في تايبيه ؛ جمعية آسيا في نيويورك؛ متحف هيرشورن وحديقة النحت في واشنطن العاصمة ؛ ومتحف إنديانابوليس للفنون. بعد حصوله على إذن بمغادرة الصين في عام 2015 ، انتقل ويوي مع عائلته إلى أوروبا ، حيث يقيم حاليًا.

Ai Weiwei

Ai Weiwei

Ai Weiwei (b. 1957) is China’s most well-known contemporary artist. His work offers poignant criticism of government abuse and authoritarian practices through installation, sculpture, video, and porcelain. Following his father’s political exile, Weiwei left his native Beijing for the remote Xinjiang region, where he lived under harsh conditions until 1976. In 1978 he attended the Beijing Film Academy and relocated to the United States, where he studied at Parsons School of Design in New York.

As an artist, Weiwei has been a vocal critic of the sociopolitical system in China, in particular the government’s stance on democracy and human rights. He has investigated government corruption and cover-ups, such as the scandal connected to the Sichuan Earthquake. His installations Sichuan Earthquake Names Project (2009) and Remembering (2009) commemorated the thousands of victims killed during the cataclysm, while denouncing the authorities’ inadequate response and irresponsible building practices. As a result, the artist experienced censorship from the government, which culminated in Weiwei being arrested for “economic crimes,” a charge widely thought to be politically motivated. He documented his 81 days of incarceration in S.A.C.R.E.D (2013), a series of dioramas presented at the Venice Biennale. Weiwei also explores the relationship between his country’s imperial tradition and the recent phase of modernization through the manipulation of Chinese cultural artifacts.

Weiwei received numerous awards and accolades, including the Chinese Contemporary Art Award, the Skowhegan Medal, and the Václav Havel Prize for Creative Dissent from the Human Rights Foundation. His work was exhibited at the Mori Art Museum in Tokyo; Tate Modern in London, the Taipei Fine Art Museum in Taipei; the Asia Society in New York; the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington D.C.; and the Indianapolis Museum of Art. After receiving permission to leave China in 2015, Weiwei moved with his family to Europe, where he currently resides.