艾未未

艾未未

艾未未 (生于 1957 年)是中国当代最著名的 artist。他的作品通过装置、雕塑、视频和瓷器对政府滥用职权和专制做法提出尖锐的批评。随着父亲的政治流亡,魏伟离开家乡北京前往偏远的新疆地区,在那里他一直生活在艰苦的条件下,直到 1976 年。1978 年,他就读于北京电影学院,并移居美国,就读于 2007 年的帕森斯设计学院。纽约。

作为一个 artist,薇薇一直是中国社会政治制度的直言不讳的批评者,尤其是政府在民主和人权方面的立场。他调查过政府腐败和掩盖事实,例如与四川地震有关的丑闻。他的装置 四川地震命名工程 (2009) 和 记住 (2009) 纪念在灾难中丧生的数千名受害者,同时谴责当局的不当反应和不负责任的建筑做法。结果,artist 受到了政府的审查,最终导致薇薇因“经济犯罪”被捕,这一指控被广泛认为是出于政治动机。他记录了他 81 天的监禁 神圣 (2013),一系列在威尼斯双年展上展出的立体模型。魏伟还通过对中国文物的处理探索了他的国家的帝国传统与近代现代化之间的关系。

维维获得了无数奖项和荣誉,包括中国当代艺术奖、Skowhegan 奖章和人权基金会颁发的 Václav Havel 创意异议奖。他的作品在东京森美术馆展出;伦敦泰特现代美术馆,台北台北市立美术馆;纽约亚洲协会;华盛顿特区的赫希洪博物馆和雕塑园;和印第安纳波利斯艺术博物馆。 2015 年获得离开中国的许可后,魏伟与家人搬到了欧洲,目前居住在那里。

Ai Weiwei

Ai Weiwei

Ai Weiwei (b. 1957) is China’s most well-known contemporary artist. His work offers poignant criticism of government abuse and authoritarian practices through installation, sculpture, video, and porcelain. Following his father’s political exile, Weiwei left his native Beijing for the remote Xinjiang region, where he lived under harsh conditions until 1976. In 1978 he attended the Beijing Film Academy and relocated to the United States, where he studied at Parsons School of Design in New York.

As an artist, Weiwei has been a vocal critic of the sociopolitical system in China, in particular the government’s stance on democracy and human rights. He has investigated government corruption and cover-ups, such as the scandal connected to the Sichuan Earthquake. His installations Sichuan Earthquake Names Project (2009) and Remembering (2009) commemorated the thousands of victims killed during the cataclysm, while denouncing the authorities’ inadequate response and irresponsible building practices. As a result, the artist experienced censorship from the government, which culminated in Weiwei being arrested for “economic crimes,” a charge widely thought to be politically motivated. He documented his 81 days of incarceration in S.A.C.R.E.D (2013), a series of dioramas presented at the Venice Biennale. Weiwei also explores the relationship between his country’s imperial tradition and the recent phase of modernization through the manipulation of Chinese cultural artifacts.

Weiwei received numerous awards and accolades, including the Chinese Contemporary Art Award, the Skowhegan Medal, and the Václav Havel Prize for Creative Dissent from the Human Rights Foundation. His work was exhibited at the Mori Art Museum in Tokyo; Tate Modern in London, the Taipei Fine Art Museum in Taipei; the Asia Society in New York; the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington D.C.; and the Indianapolis Museum of Art. After receiving permission to leave China in 2015, Weiwei moved with his family to Europe, where he currently resides.