安迪·沃霍尔

安迪·沃霍尔

安迪·沃霍尔 (出生于小安德鲁·沃霍拉;1928-1987 年)是 1960 年代波普艺术运动的主要倡导者。他的革命性作品颠覆了传统 artistic 表达的准则,将独一无二的艺术品变成了大众商品,以回应战后消费文化的平庸。

沃霍尔最初来自匹兹堡,于 1940 年代末移居纽约,从事商业插画师的职业。他标志性的扁平风格源于广告和时尚界,当时他曾在鞋履制造商 Israel Miller 担任设计师。在那里,他开发了“印迹线”方法——将绘画与水彩和墨水的基本版画相结合——并迅速成为 1950 年代最成功的商业 artist 之一。他的标志性画作 金宝汤罐头 于 1962 年在洛杉矶的 Ferus 画廊首次展出,在艺术界引起了轰动,并使沃霍尔一跃成为全国瞩目的焦点。他使用丝网印刷技术,以大型重复系列制作日常物品的图像和雕塑,以模仿和讽刺战后大众消费主义的空虚。与版画相呼应,他使用了镜像、复制、转移和多重性等方法。

除了消费品,沃霍尔最具标志性的作品展现了他对名人文化和公众人物的迷恋,即 玛丽莲双联画 (1962), 猫王一世和二世 (1963),和 丽兹泰勒 (1964)。在他的一生中,沃霍尔的工作涉及广泛的媒体——绘画、素描、摄影、电影和雕塑——并进行了各种创业。他制作并管理了前卫摇滚乐队 The Velvet Underground,并创立了 面试 杂志。他执导或制作了近 150 部电影,并撰写了大量书籍,例如 安迪·沃霍尔的哲学 波普主义:沃霍尔六十年代.他于 1987 年在纽约市去世,享年 58 岁。

Andy Warhol

Andy Warhol

Andy Warhol (born Andrew Warhola Jr.; 1928–1987) was the leading exponent of the 1960s Pop Art movement. His revolutionary work subverted the canons of traditional artistic expression, by turning one-of-a-kind artworks into objects of mass commodification, in response to the banality of post-war consumer culture.

Originally from Pittsburgh, Warhol moved to New York in the late 1940s to pursue a career as a commercial illustrator. His signature flat style finds its roots in the world of advertising and fashion, while he worked as a designer for shoe manufacturer Israel Miller. There he developed the “blotted line” method–a combination of drawing and basic printmaking in watercolor and ink–and quickly became one of the most successful commercial artists of the 1950s. Paintings of his iconic Campbell’s Soup Cans were first exhibited in 1962 at Ferus Gallery in Los Angeles, causing a major stir in the art establishment and catapulting Warhol into the national spotlight. Using the silkscreen technique, he produced images and sculptures of everyday objects in large repetitive series, to emulate and satirize the vacuity of post-war mass consumerism. Echoing printmaking, he utilized methods such as mirroring, replication, transfer, and multiplicity.

Alongside consumer goods, Warhol’s most iconic works reveal his fascination with celebrity culture and public figures, namely Marilyn Diptych (1962), Elvis I & II (1963), and Liz Taylor (1964). Throughout his life, Warhol worked across a broad range of media–painting, drawing, photography, film, and sculpture–and undertook various entrepreneurial ventures. He produced and managed the avant-garde rock band The Velvet Underground and founded Interview magazine. He directed or produced nearly 150 films and authored numerous books, such as The Philosophy of Andy Warhol and Popism: The Warhol Sixties. He died in 1987 at age 58, in New York City.

Join our mailing list