达明·赫斯特

达明·赫斯特

达明·赫斯特 (生于 1965 年)是一位英国概念 artist 和企业家,以其对死亡、宗教和存在主义的有争议的看法而闻名。他是 1990 年代主导英国艺术界的年轻英国艺术家运动的成员。在伦敦戈德史密斯学院求学期间,他引起了画廊经营者兼收藏家查尔斯萨奇的注意,后者成为赫斯特最早的赞助人之一。 1988 年,他组织了开创性的 冻结 展览,其中包括几位 YBA artist 和同学,这帮助他开启了职业生涯。

赫斯特的作品是动物标本剥制术、药柜、镶钻头骨和旋转画的奇特组合。他最著名的系列之一, 自然历史,以死去的动物为特色——例如鲨鱼、绵羊或牛——其中一些被解剖,保存在充满甲醛的水箱中。他最著名的作品是 在活着的人的头脑中,死亡在生理上是不可能的 (1991),一个大玻璃柜,里面有一条悬空的虎鲨。 1995年,他获得了享有盛誉的特纳奖 母亲和孩子,一头母牛和她的小牛的雕塑,颠覆了对圣母玛利亚和耶稣的传统描绘。多年来,他曾在伦敦的蛇形画廊、伦敦的华莱士收藏馆、摩纳哥的摩纳哥海洋博物馆和柏林的鹿腿博物馆举办过展览。 2008 年,他在苏富比拍卖行拍卖了 223 件作品,并避开了他长期经营的画廊,震惊了艺术界,这对于 artist 的生活来说是前所未有的举动。

赫斯特目前在伦敦生活和工作。他的作品在世界各地的收藏中都可以看到,包括英国伦敦的泰特美术馆、纽约的现代艺术博物馆、华盛顿特区的赫希洪博物馆和雕塑花园、英国爱丁堡的苏格兰国家美术馆和迈阿密的鲁贝尔家族收藏.

Damien Hirst

Damien Hirst

Damien Hirst (b. 1965) is an English conceptual artist and entrepreneur known for his controversial take on mortality, religion, and existentialism. He was a member of the Young British Artists movement, which dominated the art scene in the UK in the 1990s. While a student at Goldsmith College in London, he caught the attention of gallerist and collector Charles Saatchi, who became one of Hirst’s earliest patrons. In 1988, he organized the groundbreaking Freeze exhibition, which included several YBA artists and fellow students, which helped launch his career.

Hirst’s work is a curious assortment of taxidermy, medicine cabinets, diamond-encrusted skulls, and spin paintings. One of his most notable series, Natural History, features dead animals–such as shark, a sheep, or a cow–some of which were dissected, preserved in formaldehyde-filled tanks. His best known piece was The Physical Impossibility of Death in the Mind of Someone Living (1991), a large vitrine containing a suspended tiger shark. In 1995, he won the prestigious Turner Award for Mother and Child, a sculpture of a cow and her calf, subverting traditional depictions of Mother Mary and Jesus. Over the years, he has exhibited with the Serpentine Gallery in London, The Wallace Collection in London, the Musée Océanographique de Monaco in Monaco, and Haunch of Venison in Berlin. In 2008, he shocked the art establishment by selling 223 works by auction at Sotheby’s and sidestepping his long-standing galleries, an unprecedented move for a living artist.

Hirst currently lives and works in London. His work can be seen in collections worldwide, including the Tate Gallery in London, UK, MoMA in New York, the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington DC, the National Galleries of Scotland in Edinburgh, UK, and the Rubell Family Collection in Miami.