考斯

考斯

卡哇伊 (生于 1974 年)是纽约著名的限量版玩具和服装设计师。 KAWS 以 Brian Donnelly 的名字出生于新泽西州泽西城,他第一次涉足艺术始于 1990 年代初期的涂鸦 artist。他的形象出现在广告牌、公共汽车候车亭、火车和电话亭上。 KAWS 在纽约视觉艺术学院接受正规教育,毕业于插画专业。大学毕业后,他立即成为迪士尼的自由动画师。他的设计 101斑点狗 以及邪教节目 达里亚道格 是他最受欢迎的贡献之一。

90 年代后期,KAWS 开始生产限量版乙烯基玩具。这些作品在国际上取得了成功,尤其是在日本,并在全球艺术玩具收藏界广受欢迎。随着商业上的爆红,KAWS 开始制作超大卡通人物雕塑,最著名的例子是 米老鼠, 海绵宝宝方裤, 和 米其林人. His Companion 是一个灰色的小丑形象,双手遮住他的脸,被改编成 2012 年梅西百货感恩节大游行的气球。 KAWS 的丙烯画也备受推崇。

他的个展包括宾夕法尼亚州费城的宾夕法尼亚美术学院、康涅狄格州里奇菲尔德的奥尔德里奇当代艺术博物馆、佐治亚州亚特兰大的高等艺术博物馆、英国普雷斯顿的哈里斯博物馆、日本东京的 Parco 画廊.国际画廊包括 Honor Fraser Gallery 和 Galerie Perrotin。最近,KAWS 与 Nike、Vans、Original Fake、Undercover、A Bathing Ape 和 Comme des Garcons 等著名服装和鞋履品牌进行了合作。

精选-artist

无标题, 2013

布面丙烯

38" x 31.875"

加入我们的邮件列表

Kaws

Kaws

KAWS (b. 1974) is a renowned limited-edition toy and clothing designer based in New York. Born as Brian Donnelly in Jersey City, NJ, KAWS’ first foray into art began as a graffiti artist in the early 1990s. His images appeared on billboards, bus shelters, trains, and phone booths. KAWS received formal education at the School of Visual Arts in New York, where he graduated in Illustration. Immediately after college, he worked as a freelance animator for Disney. His designs for 101 Dalmatians as well as cult shows Daria and Doug are amongst his most popular contributions.

In the late 1990s, KAWS began to produce limited-edition vinyl toys. These achieved international success, especially in Japan, and became highly sought-after in the global art toy-collecting community. Following his explosive commercial popularity, KAWS began to make oversized sculptures of cartoon characters, the most notable examples being Mickey Mouse, SpongeBob SquarePants, and The Michelin Man. His Companion, a gray clown-like figure with his face obscured by his hands, was adapted to a balloon for the 2012 Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. KAWS is also highly praised for his acrylic paintings.

His solo exhibitions include the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts in Philadelphia, PA, the Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum in Ridgefield, CT, the High Museum of Art in Atlanta, GA, the Harris Museum in Preston, UK, the Parco Gallery in Tokyo, Japan. International galleries include Honor Fraser Gallery and Galerie Perrotin. Recently, KAWS has collaborated with notable clothing and shoe brands such as Nike, Vans, Original Fake, Undercover, A Bathing Ape, and Comme des Garcons.

Join our mailing list